Home » High debt » The number of people calling for legal advice is increasing, but the number that qualify for legal aid is decreasing.

The number of people calling for legal advice is increasing, but the number that qualify for legal aid is decreasing.

noun_33370_ccI’m a paralegal working in immigration and public law.  My days starts at 8am (in the office, computer on and emails pinging).

The phone rings. I recognise the number. I have a client that rings about 5 times a day. I know many colleagues who have similar clients. He’s very unwell. He’s detained under immigration powers and desperately wants to go home. He paid previous private  solicitors who took the money he borrowed from several friends and disappeared. He’s having difficulty trusting us.

I finish the call. I look at my to do list. Sometimes ‘leave office on time ‘ is on my to do list. It isn’t today because I’ve got too much to do. I need to write representations on an asylum claim to the Home Office. My client is gay and he can not return to his country of origin because homosexuality is a crime there, punishable by the death penalty. Also on my task list for the day is to request a bail address from the Home Office, so my client in detention can apply for bail. I also have to chase the Legal Aid Agency on funding applications so that we can actually be paid for the work that we do!

My day has not finished but the space available has! I leave the office at about 6.30pm. When I get home, I start working again for an hour or so.

I have not even started paying off my student loan because I don’t earn enough. I also have debt towards my Legal Practice Course fees. Living costs in London are high; it costs me over £200 per month just to travel to London. I earn £17,000, but for the number of hours that I do, it works out as less than minimum wage. I earnt more working in retail.

Everyday the  number of people calling and needing legal advice is increasing and yet the number of people qualifying  for legal aid is decreasing. However, the Home Office always has money for their legal advice.

